Day 17 Today, Everyone’s Irish!

 

16641-shamrocks (1)

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Today is always a cheerful day.  I started off the day watching the WGN Morning News team at Bourbon Street on the South Side.  They were all decked out in their green, kicking off St. Patrick’s Day.  Ana Belaval, the “Around Town” Puerto Rican girl was dressed as an Irish dancer, curly wig and all.  She was attempting some Irish dance moves. There were goofy leprechauns and Irish singers.  They also had bagpipes, which I love.  They were celebrating early and having a great time.

 I got ready for work making sure I wore my brightest green sweater.  I wore a shamrock scarf with my jacket.  I listened to St. Patrick’s Day trivia on the radio on the way to work.  Did you know Patrick wasn’t his real name?  Do you know why we eat corned beef and cabbage on St. Patrick’s Day?  I do now. 

When I arrived at school, I saw a sea of green in line waiting to go into the building.  As I walked down the hall, I passed teachers with a hint of green, or totally decked out in everything Irish.   The teacher’s lounge had a St. Patrick’s Day surprise of Irish soda bread and scones.  We all found an Irish Blessing along with a chocolate treat in our mailbox. 

As the kids entered the room,some in green, some not,  I watched my Lithuanian student walk in dressed in green from head to toe, including his hair. He accented his outfit with a green hat and many strands of green beads around his neck.  He had the biggest smile on his face, so proud of his “get-up”.  I wondered how early he had to get up to get ready this morning.  I have to say, he looked adorable.  He made me smile because he isn’t Irish.  He just knew this is what people do on St. Patrick’s Day.  He probably saw clips on the news of the South Side Parade or clips of the St. Patrick’s Day Parade in the city.  Who knows, he may have attended these parades.   He sure did it right today! 

Today, everyone was Irish.  Everyone had a little bit more cheer in them. I think everyone looks great in green!  

My day ended with corned beef and cabbage with my familyIt was a good day.  I feel blessed. 

One thought on “Day 17 Today, Everyone’s Irish!

Leave a Reply

