Day 16

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h (1)

I love my after school “Catch Up Club”  on Wednesdays.  It’s just my class so they can get extra help or catch up on work.    I offered this at conferences in the Fall and almost all the parents signed up.  As soon as the bell rings, the kids go to their lockers to get their snack, get out their homework, and find a comfy spot in the room.  If their homework is finished, they come to me for help with something else, or they get to play math games.

As I look around, I see how they pair off, or work in groups.  Some kids like to curl up with a pillow and work alone.  It is a very relaxed atmosphere.  The smiles and laughs that I see and hear give me a satisfying feeling.  They are working together-they are helping each other- they are sharing tips on how to get to the next level in a math game.

The school day flies by.  Our schedule is packed. Every minute is filled. I sometimes drive home and wonder,

“Did I speak to each of my students individually, today?”

“Did I answer a question they might have had?”

Although my day goes until 4:00 on Wednesdays, it is time well spent.   My students get to slow down, take a breathe, work on homework, or get some one- on- one time with me.

Speaking of that, I’m going to sign off now, so I can go around the room and chat with each of my  students.  I hope they can give me some of their time.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Day 16

  1. I think the same thing all the time, wondering did I reach every kid that day. Did I upset that student that had their hand up that I couldn’t get to. I am glad to hear that you are getting so much out of your after school club. I know there are times that you probably wish you didn’t have to do it, but after it is over you remember why you are doing it in the first place.

    Like

  2. Kathy, one of the things that comes across so much in your writing is how much you love your students. I know you probably think “of course I do” but not all teachers have this fondness for their kids that you have. I’m very touched by it.

    Like

  3. You never cease to amaze me with the depth of your love for what you do and for whom you do it! Truly, they are lucky to have you as their teacher. They have learned a lot more about life from you then you may ever realize!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

