Day 13 Rain on his Parade

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h (1)Today is usually an exciting time for the family.  It’s the South Side Irish Parade. Mom has her grocery list still sitting on the table— rye bread, pickles, corned beef, Swiss cheese, etc. She planned on ordering the corned beef dinner from Foxes for those who wanted the traditional Irish dinner.  We usually gather at my parents’ house and enjoy the annual tradition of food, drink, and family.  Some go up to Western Avenue to watch the parade and to see my niece dance with her Irish dance club.

I have to say, I’m glad it’s rainy today.  I’m glad that Dad isn’t missing out on a fun, sunny, day. I’m glad Mom and Dad aren’t feeling bad that we all missed the fun Sunday.  It rained all day.  It was gloomy all day–just like it has been since Christmas.  It has been gloomy.  There has been a dark  cloud hanging over us.

I am looking forward to the day where there is sunshine and a rainbow.  My mom and dad deserve both of those.

2 thoughts on “Day 13 Rain on his Parade

  1. Oh, Kathy, I sure hope this time passes for your family. Your days are colored with gloom – and I hope you’re seeing glimmers of hope in there too.

    The mood of this piece really touched me as a reader. Very well written.

    Like

Leave a Reply

